Camdeboo Municipality


Camdeboo Municipality

I D P   E X E C U T I V E   S U M M A R Y

“A vibrant and developmental Camdeboo with a prosperous Community living in a pleasant, healthy environment.”

Camdeboo Municipality (EC101), which incorporates the towns of Graaff-Reinet, Aberdeen and Nieu-Bethesda, is strategically situated as a portal to the mystical Karoo in an area renowned for its pristine natural environment, rich heritage, diverse peoples and cultures.   The area (12,422 km² in extent and a population density of 4.1 persons per km²) boasts a number of popular tourist attractions, beautiful landscapes and a healthy climate. The town of Graaff-Reinet, 4th oldest in South-Africa and referred to as the “Gem of the Karoo”, is a hub of agri-tourism activity; it is the seat of the Municipal Council and is also the centre where the largest concentration of the population lives and works.   Each of the 3 towns has its own unique dynamics and attractions that draw visitors from far and wide, some of whom have made this their home. Well-known personalities that have carved a niche in our country’s history and are closely associated with the Camdeboo, include the likes of Robert Mangaliso Sobukwe, Dr Anton Rupert, Beyers Naudé, Rev. Andrew Murray, Prof James Kitching, Athol Fugard, Anna Neethling Pohl, DF Malan, Helen Martins, Andries Pretorius…  

Key features include :

§  Agriculture : wool, mohair, ostrich, poultry, redmeat production (beef, sheep, goat), crops;
§  Tourism : museums (e.g. Reinet House, Owl House), natural and cultural heritage, the Valley of Desolation, Camdeboo National Park;
§  Commerce & Industry : established business (large and small), formal & informal sectors;
§  Infrastructure & Services : good infrastructure, basic services (water, electricity & sanitation) available to all with free basic services and subsidized support to the Indigent;
§  Schools, colleges and other educational centres;
§  Primary health care clinics, hospitals and other medical facilities;
Public amenities : libraries, sport & recreational facilities, banks and post offices.

Being situated in an arid area within the Cacadu District, Camdeboo faces many challenges, the biggest of which is water. Aberdeen and Nieu-Bethesda are in the fortunate position of having perennial springs that supply adequate and good quality water, which is used for both domestic consumption and irrigation. Graaff-Reinet gets its supply from the Nqweba Dam; when dry, the town is dependent on borehole water ~ an unreliable source as the water table drops drastically when the rain stays away… The lack of a sustainable and permanent water supply is probably the most inhibiting factor in the area’s economic development, as it restricts both agricultural and industrial activities.

In accordance with the Municipal Structures Act 117/1998, Camdeboo has been classified as a Category B Municipality; a plenary executive system combined with a Ward participatory system. A plenary executive system limits the exercise of executive authority to the Municipal Council itself and a Ward participatory system allows for matters of local concern to be dealt with by Ward Committees. Camdeboo (recently upgraded to a Grade 3 Municipality) does not qualify for an Executive Mayor and currently all but one of the 14 Councillors serve in their part-time capacity. Only the Mayor has been allocated full-time status. There are 7 Ward Councillors and 7 Proportional Representatives.  

Integrated Development Planning

All planned development within the Municipality must be structured in accordance with the 6 Key Performance Areas referenced in Section 1.4 of Chapter 1 of the IDP.  Each KPA consists of one or more Development Priorities, identified during the public participation process as well as consultations with internal Roleplayers. These Development Priorities are to be addressed through either the Municipality’s Capital Budget Programme, or form part of its day-to-day operational activities.

        KPA 1           Organizational Transformation & Institutional Development
                                  (including Institutional Plan, HR Strategies & Policies, OPMS)

       KPA 2           Service Delivery & Infrastructure Planning
                                  (including FBS, Housing, Disaster Management)

        KPA 3           Local Economic Development 
                                  (including LED Strategy & Action Plans, SLED)

        KPA 4           Financial Viability
                                  (including Budget, Financial Plan, Audit Reports, Systems & Policies)

        KPA 5           Good Governance & Public Participation
                                  (including Communication, IGR, Social Cohesion, Special Groups)

        KPA 6           Spatial Development Rationale
                                  (including SDF, LUMS, Human Settlements, Biodiversity) 

v  The IDP’s High Level Development Priorities (mainly Capital Programmes) can be categorized as follows, each with a cluster of Focus Areas :

PRIORITY 1        INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT                               KPA 2, 3 & 6

§  Human Settlements
§  Streets & Stormwater
§  Water (FBS, Bulk & Reticulation)
§  Electrification (FBS, Bulk & Reticulation)
§  Sanitation (Sewerage & Solid Waste Disposal)
§  Sector Plans, O & M Plans, Service Delivery Master Plans

PRIORITY 2        LOCAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT                                          KPA 3

§  SMMEs
§  Business Hubs
§  Enabling environment
§  Implementation of LED Strategies
§  Commercial & Industrial Infrastructure
§  Investment Attraction & Business Retention
§  Growth of established and emerging Economic Sectors

PRIORITY 3        INSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT                                                KPA 1

§  Land & Buildings
§  Vehicles & Plant                           
§  Furniture & Fittings
§  Tools, Equipment & Machinery
§  Staff : Capacity Building & Training
§  Performance Management System / OPMS
§  Organizational Restructuring & Transformation
§  Information & Communications Technology (ICT)
§  LLF, Institutional Plan, HR Strategies, Frameworks & Policies

PRIORITY 4        COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT                                       KPA 1, 2, 5 & 6

§  Social Cohesion
§  Community Facilities
§  Disaster Management
§  Special Programmes (SPU)
§  Community Safety & Security
§  Strategies, Frameworks, Policies & Plans

v  Institutional Performance Development Priorities (mainly of operational nature) can be categorized as follows, each with a cluster of Focus Areas :

PRIORITY 5        SERVICE DELIVERY EXCELLENCE                                   KPA 1, 2 & 5

§  Batho Pele
§  FBS and Indigent Support
§  Ward Committees and CDWs
§  Inter-Governmental Relations (IGR)
§  Credible Integrated Development Planning (IDP)
§  Functional Council, Standing Committees and Fora
§  Communication, Public Participation & promoting Socio-
§  Economic Development

PRIORITY 6        SOUND FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT                                           KPA 4

§  Clean Audits
§  Financial Plan
§  Annual Budget
§  Annual Financial Statements
§  Systems, Structures & Policies


§  SDF
§  Town Planning
§  Biodiversity & Environmental Oversight  


Financial and non-financial Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) and quarterly targets for annual capital projects and operational programmes are contained in the IDP by way of the SDBIP.  Monthly Progress Reports enable Management and Council to monitor and evaluate the implementation of capital projects.

For more on the Municipality's IDP and Community-based planning, please click on the following link :

Visitors Counter